Research Guides @ Fordham: Classics: History, Culture, Art & Architecture Sources

Historical Surveys & Chronicles

Cambridge Histories Online
Electronic access to the unique historical reference compendium of renowned texts of the Cambridge Histories series.
Cambridge Ancient History.
Call Number: (LC, RH) Ref D57.C27
London: Cambridge University Press, 1970.

A monographic series with each volume cataloged individually.
Chronicle of the Roman Emperors by Christopher Scarre
Call Number: (RH) Ref DG274.S28
London: Thames and Hudson, 1995.
Chronology of Ancient World, 10,000 B.C. to A.D. 799 by H. E. Mellersh
Call Number: (RH) Ref D54.5 .M45 1994
New York: Simon & Schuster, 1994
Smithsonian Timelines of the Ancient World by Christopher Scarre
Call Number: (RH) Ref + D54.5 .S65 1993
[Washington, D.C.]: Smithsonian Institution ; New York: D. Kindersley, 1993.

Culture & Society

Encyclopedia of Women in the Ancient World by Joyce Salisbury
Call Number: (RH) Ref HQ1127 .S25 2001
Santa Barbara, Calif.: ABC-CLIO, 2001.

Aspects of Greek and Roman Life (monographic series, with various call numbers) Cornell University Press.

Search the series name in the library catalog, advanced search. Over 40 titles available on various aspects of ancient civilization and culture. Examples include:

Festivals of the Athenians - Call Number: DF123 .P37
Houses, Villas, and Palaces in the Roman World - Call Number: NA324 .M3
Death and Burial in the Roman World - Call Number: DG103 .T69
Roman Medicine - Call Number: R135 .S25
Sport in Greece and Rome - Call Number: GV573 .H3

The Cambridge Dictionary of Classical Civilization by Graham Shipley (Editor); Lin Foxhall (Editor); David Mattingly (Editor); John Vanderspoel (Editor)
Call Number: (RH) Ref DE5 .C28 2006
New York: Cambridge University Press, 2006.
Daughters of Gaia: Women in the Ancient Mediterranean World by Bella Vivante
Call Number: (LC, RH, W) Stacks HQ1127 .V56 2007
Westport, Conn.: Praeger Publishers, 2007.
Encyclopedia of Society and Culture in the Ancient World by Schlager Group; Peter Bogucki
Call Number: (RH) Ref CB311 .E533 2008, 4 vols.
New York: Facts On File, 2008.
Food in the Ancient World from A to Z by Andrew Dalby
Call Number: (RH) Ref GT2853.G8 D35 2003
New York: Routledge, 2003.
Greek Civilzation Through the Eyes of Travellers and Scholars by Leonora Navari (Compiled by)
Call Number: (RH) Ref + DF801 .C66 2004
New Castle, DE: Oak Knoll Press, 2004.
The Oxford Companion to Classical Civilization, 2nd ed. by Simon Hornblower; Antony Spawforth; Esther Eidinow
Call Number: (RH) Stacks DE5 .O94 2014
New York, NY : Oxford University Press, 2014.

Libraries

The Library of the Villa Dei Papiri at Herculaneum by David Sider
Call Number: (RH) Stacks DG70.H5 S565
J. Paul Getty Museum , 2005.

Provides an overview of the only extant library from antiquity.

Art & Architecture

The Grove Dictionary of Art by Jane Turner (Editor)
Call Number: (LC, RH) Ref N31.D5, 34 vols.
New York: Grove’s Dictionaries, 1996.
The Grove Encyclopedia of Classical Art and Architecture by Gordon Campbell
Call Number: (RH) Ref N5610.G76 2007. 2 vols.
New York: Oxford University Press, 2007.
Roman Theatres: An Architectural Study. by Frank Sear
Call Number: (RH) +NA325.T5 S33 2006
Oxford University Press, 2006.
The Princeton Encyclopedia of Classical Sites by Richard Stillwell (Editor)
Call Number: (LC, RH) Ref DE59.P7
Princeton: Princeton University Press, 1976.
Ancient Roman Architecture: Photographic Archive on Microfiche
Call Number: (RH) Microfiche 180, 2 vols.
Rome: Fototeca Unione, American Academy in Rome ; Chicago: Distributed by the University of Chicago Press, 1982.

Art Database

Artstor This link opens in a new window
Hundreds of thousands of online images of paintings, sculptures, architecture and other works of art. Remote Users: Must Make Personal Account on Campus before trying remote access. After signing in with your Fordham Username (formerly AccessIT ID), sign in again with personal account username and password. Must disable your browser’s pop-up blocker.
ARTSTOR MERGING INTO JSTOR 8/1/2024. ALL ARTSTOR IMAGE GROUPS WILL BE COPIED TO JSTOR WORKSPACE DURING 2/2024.CLICK HERE FOR INFORMATION.

Artstor Across Disciplines
A guide to the many disciplines supported by the Artstor Digital Library. Select Classical Studies from the left side bar on the website

Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
Resources for art research including Grove Art Online - the world's largest art encyclopedia and Encyclopedia of Aesthetics. Fordham University community can ignore the log in box! Subscription DOES NOT INCLUDE Benezit Dictionary of Artists.

Classics: History, Culture, Art & Architecture Sources

Historical Surveys & Chronicles

Culture & Society

Libraries

Art & Architecture

Art Database

Reference & Instruction Department