Research Guides @ Fordham: Communication & Media Studies: Linguistics, Semiotics, Rhetoric

Semiotics & Linguistics

Encyclopedia of Semiotics by Paul Bouissac (Editor)
Call Number: (LC, RH) Ref P99 .E64 1998
New York: Oxford University Press, 1998

Key concepts, theories, people, and issues in communications, cognition, and culture.
Encyclopedic Dictionary of Semiotics, Media and Communication by Marcel Danesi (Editor)
Call Number: (RH, LC) Ref P87.5.D36 2000
Toronto:University of Toronto Press, 2000.

Basic terms, concepts, people, theories, and historical movements from the fields of semiotics, media analysis, and communications.
The Linguistics Encyclopedia by Kirsten Malmkjaer
ISBN: 9780415421041
Publication Date: 2010-01-20
on order
International Encyclopedia of Linguistics, 2nd ed. by William J. Frawley (Editor)
Call Number: (RH) Ref + P29 .I58 2003, 4 vols.

Rhetoric & Public Speaking

The Handbook of Rhetoric and Public Address by J. Michael Hogan (Editor); Shawn J. Parry-Giles (Editor)
Call Number: (RH) Ref PN4096 .H36 2010
Chichester, West Sussex, U.K. ; Malden, Mass. : Wiley-Blackwell, 2010 Credo Reference, 2011
Encyclopedia of Rhetoric by Thomas O. Sloane (Editor)
Call Number: (RH) Ref PN172 .E52 2001
Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, 2001.
Encyclopedia of Rhetoric and Composition by Theresa Enos (Editor)
Call Number: (RH, LC) Ref PN172 .E53 1996
New York : Garland Pub., 1996.

Library Databases

Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews back to 1973.
MLA International Bibliography with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Offers a collection of full-text journals with the definitive index for the study and teaching of language, literature, linguistics, rhetoric, writing studies, folklore, film, theater, and other dramatic arts.

Reference & Instruction Department

Reference & Instruction Department
Fordham University Libraries

Walsh Library ♦ Rose Hill Campus ♦ 718-817-3586
Quinn Library ♦ Lincoln Center Campus ♦ 212-636-6050
Fordham Westchester Library ♦ Fordham Westchester Campus ♦ 914-367-3061
library@fordham.edu ♦ text 71-TXTX-1284 ♦ Ask a Librarian (Chat)