Skip to Main Content

Addiction: Beginning Research

Library and research sources on addiction

Welcome

Welcome. This guide provides an overview of library resources for addiction research.

This guide is currently under revision. Check back for updates.

Print & Electronic Reference Sources

Search the Library Catalog to locate print and electronic encyclopedias, dictionaries, almanacs, handbooks, etc.

Background Information

Credo Reference - Academic Core This link opens in a new window
Full text of hundreds of reference books including encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, and handbooks.
Encyclopaedia Britannica Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
Full text of the Encyclopedia. Note: If you receive a prompt to protect privacy. Select "Use My Location."
Gale Ebooks (formerly Gale Virtual Reference Library) This link opens in a new window
Online access to encyclopedias, reference works, and other ebooks covering a wide range of topics. Includes Scribners Writers and Twaynes Authors titles.
Oxford Reference Premium This link opens in a new window
Over 300 dictionaries, encyclopedias and subject reference books published by Oxford University Press. 5 Simultaneous User limit

Support for Addiction & Substance Abuse

Substance Abuse Prevention at Fordham
Includes contact information for addiction prevention and support resources at Fordham University.
Fordham University Health Services
National Help Line (SAMHSA)
1-800-662-HELP (4357); TTY: 1-800-487-4889. From the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA).
Find Treatment
Maintained by the Substance Abuse & Mental Health Services Administration of the U.S. Department of Health & Human Services.

Professional Organizations

Additional Related Resources

Terminology

Substance Abuse Terminology
From MedlinePlus, a service of the U.S.National Library of Medicine.
Commonly Used Terms in Addiction Science
From the National Institute on Drug Abuse.

A Thesaurus of Medical Word Roots by Horace Danner
Lanham : The Scarecrow Press, Incorporated, 2013.
Electronic resource; authentication is required.

Diagnosing Addiction

Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-5®) by American Psychiatric Association Staff
Washington, DC: American Psychiatric Association, 2013.
DSM-5® Handbook of Differential Diagnosis by Michael B. First
Washington, DC: American Psychiatric Publishing, 2014.
The Intelligent Clinician's Guide to DSM-5RG by Joel Paris
New York, NY: Oxford University Press, 2013.

Screening Tools and Data Collection Instruments
From the National Institute on Drug Abuse Clinical Trials Network (NIDA CTN).
Screening and Assessment Tools Chart
From the National Institute on Drug Abuse.

Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print This link opens in a new window
Critical evaluations of commercially available tests in education, psychology, business, and intelligence.

Select Reference Books

Addiction: A Reference Encyclopedia by Howard Padwa
Call Number: (RH & WC) Ref HV5825 .P26 2010
Santa Barbara, Calif. : ABC-CLIO, 2010.
The Encyclopedia of Addictions and Addictive Behaviors, 2nd Edition by Esther Gwinnell; Christine Adamec
New York, NY: Facts on File, 2016.
Electronic resource; authentication is required.
Drug Abuse Sourcebook, 6th Edition by Angela L. Williams
Call Number: (WC) HV5801.D724 2019
Detroit, MI: Omnigraphics, 2019.

Liaison

Contact:

Lincoln Center Campus
The Gerald M. Quinn Library
Room 207

mrios27@fordham.edu

646-868-4062

Subjects: Library & Information Science

Liaison

Contact:

Lincoln Center Campus
Quinn Library
Room 201
Vassar@fordham.edu

212-636-6052

Subjects: Library & Information Science

Reference & Instruction Department

Reference & Instruction Department
Fordham University Libraries

Walsh Library ♦ Rose Hill Campus ♦ 718-817-3586
Quinn Library ♦ Lincoln Center Campus ♦ 212-636-6050
Fordham Westchester Library ♦ Fordham Westchester Campus ♦ 914-367-3061
library@fordham.edu ♦ text 71-TXTX-1284 ♦ Ask a Librarian (Chat)