Lesson Planning 101 - Education - Just for Teachers - Research Guides @ Fordham at Fordham University Libraries

Classroom Instruction

Classroom Instruction That Works by Ceri B. Dean; Elizabeth Ross Hubbell; Howard Pitler; B. J. Stone
Call Number: Available Online - Login Through Remote Access
ISBN: 9781416613664
Publication Date: 2012-01-09
n 2001, Classroom Instruction That Works inspired more than a million teachers to refine their approach to teaching by asking and answering these questions: What works in education? How do we know? How can educational research find its way into the classroom? How can we apply it to help individual students?
Classroom Instruction That Works with English Language Learners by Jane Hill; Kathleen Flynn
Call Number: Available Online - Login Through Remote Access; LC3731 .H554 2006 (Westchester Library)
ISBN: 1416605452
Publication Date: 2006-01-01
Expert guidance on using the research-based strategies from Classroom Instruction That Works with English language learners at all levels of proficiency.
The Foundations of Dual Language Instruction by Judith Lessow-Hurley
Call Number: LC3715 .L47 2009 (Westchester Library)
ISBN: 9780205593279
Publication Date: 2008-04-11
The Foundations of Dual Language Instructionis a practical book that examines the basic social, political, historical, and educational foundations of teaching second language learners. This outstanding book is simply written and accessible to beginners. The author takes an objective look at dual language instruction and examines its different parts in a scholarly fashion. She places this important topic in a social environment and develops an understanding of the politics of dual language instruction and the controversy it inspires

Fordham GSE Lesson Plan Template

Below is a copy of the lesson plan template provided by the Fordham University Graduate School of Education.

Fordham University Graduate School of Education

Lesson Plan Format

Criterion	Explanation, Consideration, and Rationale
Lesson Aim or Focus
Learning Objectives or Outcomes
Essential Question
Standards
Prior Knowledge
Motivation and/or Hook
Materials
Vocabulary
Procedure Also note any differentiated instruction or materials in this section.
Technology Use
Informal Assessment of Student Learning
Closing or Final Summary
Formal Assessment of Student Learning

Lesson Planning for Each Grade and Subject

Shaping the Future with Math, Science, and Technology by Adams/Hamm
ISBN: 1610481178
Publication Date: 2011-05-16
Shaping the Future with Math, Science, and Technology examines how ingenuity, creativity, and teamwork skills are part of an intellectual toolbox associated with math, science, and technology. The book provides new ideas, proven processes, practical tools, and examples useful to educators who want to encourage students to solve problems and express themselves in imaginative ways. The development of a technological knowledge-based economy depends on the development of educational systems that allow schools, teachers, and students of diverse capabilities, backgrounds and learning preferences do better with both content and imaginative problem solving. This book makes the case that it is, indeed, possible to educate our way to a better economy and a better future. Paying attention to 21st century approaches and skills can help accomplish those goals.
The Educator's Field Guide by Michael L. Bentley; Christine Ebert; Edward S. Ebert
ISBN: 1412969492
Publication Date: 2011-04-07
The Educator's Field Guidehelps teachers get off to a running start. The only book that covers all four key cornerstones of effective teaching; organization, classroom management, instruction, and assessment, this handy reference offers a bridge from college to classroom with a hearty dose of practical guidance for teachers who aspire to greatness. At a time when school leaders are pressed to hire and retain high-quality teachers, this guidebook is indispensable for defining and nurturing the qualities teachers strive for and students deserve.

Helpful tools include: step-by-step guidance on instructional organization, behaviour management, lesson planning, and formative and summative assessment; user-friendly taxonomic guides to help readers quickly locate topics; teacher testimonials and examples; and explanations of education standards and initiatives.

Each key concept is addressed in a resource-style format with activities and reproducibles that can be customized. Teachers will also find lesson plan templates, graphs, charts, quizzes, and games, all in one easy-to-use source.
The GIANT Encyclopedia of Lesson Plans by Kathy Charner (Editor); Maureen Murphy (Editor); Charlie Clark (Editor)
Call Number: LB1140.4 .G53 2008
ISBN: 0876590687
Publication Date: 2008-10-01
This newest addition to the best-sellingGIANT Encyclopediaseries expands the scope of the series by offering complete lesson plans. Written and created by teachers,The GIANT Encyclopedia of Lesson Planshas more than 250 complete lesson plans, covering topics from colors and numbers to seasons and nursery rhymes. Each lesson plan is complete with learning objectives, a circle or group time activity, book suggestions, snack ideas, five learning center activities, assessment strategies, and related songs, poems, and fingerplays. With easy-to-use lesson plans for more than an entire school year, this book belongs on every teacher's bookshelf!
Themes for Inclusive Classrooms by Laverne Warner; Sharon Lynch; Diana Kay Nabors; Cynthia G. Simpson
Call Number: LC1201 .T465 2008
ISBN: 0876590040
Publication Date: 2008-09-01
This is the perfect book for teachers who have typically developing young children as well as children with special needs in their classrooms. Each lesson plan features objectives, a materials list, a circle or group time activity, assessment strategies, accommodations/modifications, and curriculum connections. The curriculum connections expand the childrens learning into many areas, such as social studies, art, literacy, science, and music.

The modifications and accommodations make the lesson plans accessible for all children, including those with: Autism Spectrum DisorderSpeech or language impairmentsHearing impairmentsVisual impairmentsADHDCognitive and/or developmental delaysEmotional disturbancesOrthopedic impairments

By using the lesson plans in "Themes for Inclusive Classrooms," teachers can meet the needs and interests of all the children in their classrooms with a balance of child-initiated and teacher-directed activities.
Writing Effective Lesson Plans by Peter Serdyukov; Mark Ryan
Call Number: LB1027.4 .S47 2008
ISBN: 020551149X
Publication Date: 2007-04-09
Developed by two educators with experience in both elementary and secondary classrooms,Writing Effective Lesson Plansdetails a unique a step-by-step procedure designed to streamline the process of lesson planning and make teaching smoother and more efficient. Coined the "Five-Star Lesson Plan" by the authors, this model consists of five classic components:lesson description,goals and objectives,materials and tools,procedures, andreflective assessment and evaluation. This workbook guides beginning and experienced teachers through each step to create lesson plans that best meet the needs of every student. It also explores the inherent challenges to effective lesson planning, such as time efficiency, knowledge construction, skill development, involving the students’ families, and implementing your plan. With its mix of concise theory and hands-on activities, this book is a one-stop resource encouraging a deep and thoughtful approach to a skill that is often not sufficiently developed in teacher preparation programs.
Succeeding in the Inclusive Classroom by Deborah J. Metcalf
Call Number: LC1201 .M48 2011
ISBN: 141298971X
Publication Date: 2010-04-16
Ideal for Introduction to Special Education/Introduction to Exceptionalities courses, this text provides strategies pre-service and in-service teachers can use to apply the principles of Universal Design for Learning (UDL) to their lesson planning. UDL lesson planning considers up front potential barriers that could limit access to instruction for some learners and helps teachers brainstorm possible solutions before lessons begin. The lessons included in this text are meant as a starting point for general education teachers who have students with special needs in their classrooms and can be adapted for primary and secondary learners with a wide range of challenges.
Through Mathematical Eyes by Ron Ritchhart; Dana Balick; Julie Craven; Dennie Palmer Wolf
Call Number: QA331.3 .T48 1997
ISBN: 043507217X
Publication Date: 1997-04-21
This second volume of the Moving Middle Schools series provides a picture of teachers with the courage to invest in a well chosen generative topic for the sake of enhancing students' mathematical power.
Course Design by George J. Posner; Alan N. Rudnitsky
Call Number: LB2806.15 .P67 2006 (Westchester Campus), LB2806.15.P67 2001 (Lincoln Center, Quinn Library)
ISBN: 0801332508
Publication Date: 2000-05-18
Bridging theory and practice in curriculum development,Course Designprovides teachers with invaluable concepts and skills for planning effective courses. The goal of the book is to help the reader become a flexible yet systematic curriculum planner by developing a greater awareness of the important decisions to be made and the alterative options available at each stage of decision making. The authors begin with a set of guidelines for developing a course and then lead readers through a step-by-step process of developing an actual course or unit of their own. The seventh edition features significant new coverage of state and national standards, and of multiple intelligences.

Project-Based Learning

Overview of PBL

According to bie.org, "Project Based Learning is a teaching method in which students gain knowledge and skills by working for an extended period of time to investigate and respond to a complex question, problem, or challenge. Essential Elements of PBL include:

Significant Content - At its core, the project is focused on teaching students important knowledge and skills, derived from standards and key concepts at the heart of academic subjects.
21st century competencies - Students build competencies valuable for today’s world, such as problem solving, critical thinking, collaboration, communication, and creativity/innovation, which are explicitly taught and assessed.
In-Depth Inquiry - Students are engaged in an extended, rigorous process of asking questions, using resources, and developing answers.
Driving Question - Project work is focused by an open-ended question that students understand and find intriguing, which captures their task or frames their exploration.
Need to Know - Students see the need to gain knowledge, understand concepts, and apply skills in order to answer the Driving Question and create project products, beginning with an Entry Event that generates interest and curiosity.
Voice and Choice - Students are allowed to make some choices about the products to be created, how they work, and how they use their time, guided by the teacher and depending on age level and PBL experience.
Critique and Revision - The project includes processes for students to give and receive feedback on the quality of their work, leading them to make revisions or conduct further inquiry.
Public Audience - Students present their work to other people, beyond their classmates and teacher."

Education - Just for Teachers: Lesson Planning 101

Classroom Instruction

Fordham GSE Lesson Plan Template

Lesson Planning for Each Grade and Subject

Project-Based Learning

Reference & Instruction Department