Research Guides @ Fordham: Social Services: Internet Resources

Web Content by Category

AGING

The Gerontological Society of America
" . . . the oldest and largest interdisciplinary organization devoted to research, education, and practice in the field of aging."
NASW Aging Resources for Practitioners
This NASW page offers tools, information, and resources to facilitate social workers’ efforts to support both older adults and family caregivers.
Association for Gerontology Education in Social Work
"AGESW provides leadership in the areas of gerontological social work education, research, and policy, and fosters cooperation, collegiality, and an exchange of ideas among social work educators, researchers, and students committed to or interested in gerontology."

CHILDREN

The Annie E. Casey Foundation
" . . .devoted to developing a brighter future for millions of children at risk of poor educational, economic, social and health outcomes."
UNICEF Data: Monitoring the Situation of Children and Women
Statistics from around the world
Child Welfare Information Gateway
Provides access to information and resources to help protect children and families
Citizens' Committee for Children of New York
CCC advocates in arenas of education, health, financial stability, safe and stable homes; combines public policy research and data analysis with citizen action.

CORRECTIONS

Inside Circle Foundation
This nonprofit, created by inmates and ex-convicts, aims to foster the personal growth of men in prison. ICF seeks to reduce prison violence and lower recidivism, promote psychic healing, and assist men in achieving meaningful lives.
The National Resource Center on Children and Families of the Incarcerated
"NRCCFI is the oldest and largest organization in the U.S. focused on children and families of the incarcerated and programs that serve them"; from Rutgers University | Camden.
Prison Activist Resource Center (PARC)
A prison abolitionist group "committed to exposing and challenging all forms of institutionalized racism, sexism, able-ism, heterosexism, and classism of the Prison Industrial Complex."

DEATH & DYING

American Association on Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities (AAIDD)
Aims to enhance education and professionalism among students and practitioners in their field and to foster inclusivity in all settings.
National Institute on Aging
The Institute's aim is to enhance elders' living experience in the final stage of life and provide comfort at its end.

FAMILIES & COMMUNITY

National Civic League
Strengthening democracy by fostering increased public participation in building prosperous communities across America.
NYC Family Justice Centers
A program of the Mayor's Office to combat domestic violence.

FIELDWORK

8 Tips for New Social Work Interns
By Sharon L. Young, PhD, LCSW; online in The New Social Worker - The Social Work Careers Magazine, Summer 2014.
Fordham MSW Field Instruction
Includes Field Instruction Resources and Field Instruction Directory
Veterans Health Administration - Do I Need a Social Worker?
Identifies the variety of roles of social workers in working with military veterans and families.

FUNDING

Foundation Center
The leading source of philanthropy worldwide.
New Economy Project
The Project aspires to build an economy that works for all, based on cooperation, equity, social and racial justice, and ecological sustainability.

Web Content

GENERAL

GSSS Home Page
GSSS was founded in 1916. It has been located in the Leon Lowenstein Center at Fordham's Lincoln Center campus in Manhattan since February 1969.
Code of Ethics of the National Association of Social Workers
Read the revised Code of Ethics online. Revision approved August 4, 2017.
Social Work Access Network (SWAN)
Website is maintained by the College of Social Work at the University of South Carolina.
The Social Work Podcast
Provides information on direct practice (both clinical and community organizing), research, policy, and education.

GOVERNMENT

Data.Gov
Available here: data, tools, and resources to conduct research, develop web and mobile applications, design data visualizations, and more.
Neighborhood Health Action Centers
Serving individuals, families, and communities, the New York City Department of Health and Mental Hygiene commands an annual budget of $1.6 billion and employs more than 6,000 New Yorkers throughout the five boroughs.
NYC: A City of Neighborhoods
The Department of City Planning provides neighborhood names and community district boundaries with statistics on geographic, demographic, and economic profiles of NYC.
NYC Department of Social Services
The Department of Social Services (DSS) is comprised of the administrative units of the NYC Human Resources Administration (HRA) and the Department of Homeless Services (DHS).
United Nations Development Programme (UNDP)
Helps people in 174 countries and territories to help themselves.
United States Census Bureau

HEALTH CARE

American Public Health Association
Numerous links to public health resources.
National Center for Health Statistics (CDC)
The nation's official aggregator and disseminator of vital statistics generated by the various jurisdictions legally responsible for the registration of vital events, e.g., births, deaths, marriages, divorces, and fetal deaths.

HIGHER EDUCATION

Peterson's Education Center
Useful tool for the prospective graduate student to research and evaluate schools of social work.

HOMELESSNESS

Habitat for Humanity International
Nonprofit organization dedicated to eliminating sub-standard housing and homelessness.
National Coalition for the Homeless
Provides fact sheets on homelessness, legislative alerts, and links to other sites.
Miracle Messages
Kevin Adler founded Miracle Messages in 2014 in honor of his Uncle Mark, who lived on-and-off the streets for 30 years. A social entrepreneur dedicated to helping homeless persons reconnect with family relations if they so desire, his premise is that "everyone is someone's somebody."

LGBT

Human Rights Campaign
The nation's largest organization fighting for equal rights for lesbians and gay men.
National LGTB Task Force
"A leading progressive civil rights organization."

LICENSING & EMPLOYMENT

Council on Social Work Education
The accrediting agency for social work education in the United States.
NASW Career Center
Social workers can use these resources to search national job listings and find professional development resources; employers can find and recruit qualified, credentialed, and licensed social workers from across the country.
NYC Jobs in Social Services
Opportunities in hospitals, schools, family agencies, charities, correctional facilities, etc.

LITERATURE REVIEWS

Social Work Literature Review Guidelines (OWL)
How to write literature reviews in social work from the OWL at Purdue University. Follow your professor's directions for writing your own literature reviews.

MENTAL HEALTH

American Counseling Association
Information about educational programs and workshops by state, date, and topic.
National Institute of Mental Health
Part of the National Institutes of Health, the NIMH is the principle biomedical and behavioral research agency of the U.S. government.

Web Content

ORGANIZATIONS

National Association of Social Workers
Links to current issues, policies, areas of action and career trends in the field.
National Association of Social Workers: New York City Chapter
National Association of Social Workers: New York State Chapter

RELIGION

Catholic Charities USA
"The mission of Catholic Charities agencies is to provide service to people in need, to advocate for justice in social structures, and to call the entire church and other people of good will to do the same."

SOCIAL POLICY

American Civil Liberties Union
Nonprofit organization devoted to the protection of civil liberties.
League of Women Voters
Mission is "to encourage the informed and active participation of citizens in government."
Social Progress Imperative
Partners with different organizations sharing common goals to achieve greater positive social impacts globally in the areas of social justice and environmental sustainability.

SUBSTANCE ABUSE

National Association of Alcoholism and Drug Abuse Counselors (NAADAC) - The Association for Addiction Professionals
Useful links to other sites dedicated to helping those who facilitate healing and recovery from addiction.
Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA)
An agency within the Department of Health and Human Services

VETERANS

U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs
Useful for veterans who are seeking information on how to qualify for and claim benefits
Vietnam Veterans of America
Contains pictures, poems, and meaningful information for Vietnam Veterans.
Veterans for Peace
An international organization made up of military veterans, military family members and allies dedicated to building a culture of peace, exposing the true costs and healing the wounds of war.

VIOLENCE & ABUSE

National Network to End Domestic Violence
Information on domestic violence education, prevention, and public policy reform.
Safe Horizon
To provide support, prevent violence, and promote justice for victims of crime and abuse, their families and communities.

WOMEN'S ISSUES

Commission on the Status of Women
Principle global intergovernmental body exclusively dedicated to the promotion of gender equality and the empowerment of women.
hEr VOLUTION
a Toronto-based initiative for the advancement of women from underserved communities into STEM-related careers.
Global Fund for Wom=n
Championing gender equality, the Fund emphasizes women's access to comprehensive sexual and reproductive health as a basic human right.
Women and Socioeconomic Status
This APA publication stresses the impact on women's health and well-being health of socioeconomic status (SES), which "encompasses not just income but also educational attainment, financial security, and subjective perceptions of social status and social class." References are provided.

Social Services: Internet Resources

SOCIAL SERVICES: A DISCIPLINE OF MULTIFACETED VOCATIONS UNITED IN IMPROVING THE HUMAN CONDITION

Web Content by Category

Web Content

Web Content

Reference & Instruction Department