Research Guides @ Fordham: Music : Jazz

Jazz Videos, DVDs, & CDs

Type your favorite title or artist in the Fordham Library Catalog to find more.

Speak No Evil [sound recording] by Wayne Shorter
Call Number: W CD 3679
Publication Date: 1999
Hollywood, CA: Blue Note, 1999.
1 sound disc
Electronic Information Center
Walsh Library
Maiden Voyage by Herbie Hancock
Call Number: Streaming Audio
Rudy Van Gelder Edition
Warner Music
42 mins.
Jazz Impressions of a Boy Named Charlie Brown by Vince Guaraldi Trio
Call Number: Streaming Audio
Berkeley, CA: Fantasy, [1989].
Out to Lunch by Eric Dolphy
Call Number: W CD 3819 (EIC)
Hollywood, CA: Blue Note, 1999.
Electronic Information Center
Walsh Library
1 sound disc
The Blues and the Abstract Truth by Oliver Nelson
Call Number: Streaming Audio
New York, NY: Impulse!, [1995].
Go! by Dexter Gordon
Call Number: Streaming Audio
Blue Note, 1999.
38 mins.
Duke Ellington's Sophisticated Ladies (DVD) by Ron Nicodeumus, produced by
Call Number: W DVD 3757 (RH)
West Long Branch, NJ: Kultur, 2005.
108 min.
Available in the Electronic Information Center.
Icons Among Us: Jazz in the Present Tense (DVD)
Call Number: W DVD 12,316 (LC) Audio Visual Collection
New York: Indiepix Films, 2010.
96 min.
La Perfecta II by Eddie Palmieri (piano)
Call Number: streaming audio
Latin jazz album La Perfecta II with Eddie Palmieri and his group; Concord Jazz, 2002. 1 hr., 6 mins. From the Alexander Street database.
Louis Armstrong: The Gentle Giant of Jazz (VHS) by Hugh Downs, hosted and narrated by
Call Number: W VHS 3823 (RH)
Chatsworth, CA: AIMS Media, [1994]?
Available in the Electronic Information Center.
24 min.
'Round Midnight
Call Number: W VHS 3798 (RH)
[Burbank, CA]: Warner Home Video, [2001].
1 videocassette; 132 min.
Features tenor saxophonist Dexter Gordon and pianists Herbie Hancock and Cedar Walton.

Still More Jazz

. . . and His Mother Called Him by Billy Strayhorn
Call Number: W CD 3623 (LC)
New York, NY: Bluebird, 2002.
Located in the Audio Visual Collection
Habana by Roy Hargrove (trumpet & flugelhorn)
Call Number: Streaming audio
Jazz album with Roy Hargrove (trumpet & flugelhorn) and his group; Universal Classics & Jazz, 1997. 1 hr. , 11 mins. From the Alexander Street database.
Young Anita by Anita O'Day
Call Number: W CD 3160 (RH) Electronic Information Center
Beckenham, Kent, England: Proper Records, 2001.
4 discs, Vols. 1-4 + Booklet
Send in the Clowns: The Very Best of Sarah Vaughan (CD) by Sarah Vaughan
Call Number: W CD 4999 (RH) Electronic Information Center
New York: Sony BMG. 2006.

More Jazz

The Best of Jazz & Blues (DVD)
Call Number: W DVD 6441 (LC) Audio Vusial Collection
New York: Kino on Video, 2001.
123 min.
Cotton Tail (CD) by Ben Webster (with the Duke Ellington Band)
Call Number: W CD 3275 (RH)
Hamburg, Germany: Past Perfect, distributed by TIM, the International Music Company, 2001.
Available in the EIC.
47 mins., 52 sec.
The Dizzy Gillespie Memorial Album: Ooh-shoo-be-doo! (CD)
Call Number: W CD 1337 (RH) Electronic Information Center; (LC) Audio Visual Collection
Margaretville, NY: Natasha Imports, 1993.
Live at Birdland Series
Duke Ellington: Copenhagen 1965 (DVD)
Call Number: W DVD 3829 (RH) Electronic Information Center
United States: Storyville Records; Chatsworth, CA: Distributed by Image Intertainment, 2005.
113 min.
Parts 1 & 2
Ella Fitzgerald. Live in '57 & '63 (DVD)
Call Number: W DVD 6744 (RH) Electronic Information Center
United States: Reelin' in the Years Productions LLC, 2006.
56 min.
Ella Fitzgerald Sings the George and Ira Gershwin Song Book (CD) by George Gershwin
Call Number: W CD 2600 (RH) Electronic Information Center; (LC) Audio Visual Collection
New York: Verve, 1998.
4 discs + 1 booklet
Ella Fitzgerald, vocals; with Nelson Riddle and his Orchestra
Lady Day: The Best of Billie Holiday (CD) by Billie Holiday
Call Number: W CD 3916 (RH) Electronic Information Center
New York: Columbia/Legacy, 2001.
2 discs, Vols. 1 & 2
Live From London (CD) by Maynard Ferguson
Call Number: W CD 1653 (RH) Electronic Information Center; LC Audio Visual Collection
Los Angeles, CA: Avenue Jazz, 1994.
Marnard Ferguson, jazz trpt/flugelhorn
Preservation Hall Jazz Band (DVD)
Call Number: W DVD 9539 (LC) Audio Visual Collection
New Orleans: Greater New Orleans Educational Foundation: Distributed by PBS Home Video, 2004.
Jazz, ragtime, blues
60 min.
Tribute to the Great Trumpeters by Kenny Baker & His Orchester
Call Number: W CD 3375 (RH)
Hamburg, Germany: Past Perfect; Distributed by TIM, the International Music Company, 2001.
Available in the EIC.
61 mins., 28 sec.
The Wynton Marsalis Quartet Live at Blues Alley (CD) by Wynton Marsalis
Call Number: W CD 4155 (RH) Electronic Infornation Center
New York: Columbia, 1988.
2 discs, Vol 1 & 2

Fordham Library Catalog

Search catalog for books, ebooks, periodicals, government documents, videos, maps etc. held by Fordham at all campuses.

Electronic Information Center

The Electronic Information Center on the ground floor of the Walsh Library at Rose Hill has viewing rooms, video and audio playback equipment, and houses the Walsh Library's audiovisual materials.

Check the Fordham library catalog to see if the music you want is located in the EIC.

Music : Jazz

Jazz Videos, DVDs, & CDs

Still More Jazz

More Jazz

Fordham Library Catalog

Electronic Information Center

Reference & Instruction Department