Critical Survey of Drama, Foreign Language Series
by Frank N. Magill (Ed.)
Call Number: REF PN1625.C74 1986 (RH)
Englewood Cliffs, NJ: Salem, 1986.
Critical essays examine representative plays and identify themes and characteristics employed by more than 170 dramatists ranging from Aeschylus in 400 B.C. to the contemporary Austrian Peter Handke.
Baltimore, MD: Johns Hopkins UP, 2005.
Contains long descriptive, signed entries that explain and define the significance of theories, movements, and people associated with them; includes resources for further reading.
Also available in print REF PN81.C97 J64 2005 (RH LC)
A Dictionary of Literary and Thematic Terms
by Edward Quinn
Call Number: REF PN44.5.Q56 1999 (RH LC)
New York, NY: Facts on File, 1999.
Single volume filled with definitions useful in general study of language and literature.
A Handbook to Literature
by William Harmon
Call Number: REF PN41.H355 2012 (RH)
Boston, MA: Longman, 2012.
Alphabetical listing of more than 2,000 terms/facts in literature, linguistics, rhetoric, criticism, printing, bookselling, and information technology.
A Dictionary of Literary Symbols
by Michael Ferber
Call Number: REF PN56.S9 F47 2007 (RH)
New York, NY: Cambridge University Press, 2007.
Compendium of symbols with definitions/examples; also available as an E-book in Online Resources
Dictionary of Symbolism
by Hans Biedermann
Call Number: REF AZ108.B531 1994 (LC RH)
New York, NY: Meridian, 1994.
Guide to symbols, with explanations of their function in literary and other artistic works.
Dictionary of Symbols: An Illustrated Guide to Traditional Images, Icons, and Emblems
by Jack Tresidder
Call Number: REF GR931.T74 1998 (LC)
San Francisco, CA: Chronicle Books, 1998.
Single volume with entries on major symbols found in myth, literature, and art.
Twentieth Century Literary Movements Dictionary
by Helene Henderson (Ed.)
Call Number: REF PN597.T94 2000 (RH LC)
Detroit, MI: Omnigraphics, 2000.
"A compendium to More than 500 Literary, Critical, and Theatrical Movements, Schools, and Groups from More than 80 Nations, Covering the Novelists, Poets, Short-Story Writers, Dramatists, Essayists, . . ."
The Poet's Dictionary: A Handbook of Prosody and Poetic Devices
by William Packard
Call Number: REF PN44.5.P3 1994 (LC)
New York, NY: HarperCollins, 1994.
Defines the tools, terms, and techniques of poetry. Arranged alphabetically.
Dictionary of Languages
by Andrew Dalby
Call Number: REF P371.D35 2004 (LC)
New York, NY: Columbia University Press, 2004.
Contains information about the history of the language and the use of the language in the modern world. Also available online in Credo Reference database.
The Dictionary of Cultural Theorists
by Ellis Cashmore (Ed.)
Call Number: REF BH39.D53 1999 (LC RH)
London: Arnold, 1999.
Brief entries describing the careers, principal works, and theories of such individuals as Barthes, Kristeva, Levi-Strauss, and Lasch.
New York, NY: Scribner, 1983.
Available in print REF PN501.E9 1983 (RH)
Multivolume set arranged by time period; lengthy entries on prominent writers and their works
Contemporary Authors, New Revision
Call Number: REF PS2.C615 (RH)
Detroit, MI: Gale.
Coverage of world authors, providing biographical information and information about their principal works; 1962 to present. Note: Also available online via Contemporary Authors database.
Fordham Library Catalog
Search catalog for books, ebooks, periodicals, government documents, videos, maps etc. held by Fordham at all campuses.
The Oxford Illustrated History of Theatre
by John Russell Brown (Ed.)
Call Number: REF PN2111.O95 1995 (RH)
New York, NY: Oxford, 1995.
Highly illustrated guide to the history of the theatre, primarily as it has evolved in the Western world; chapters include "Theatre in Roman and Christian Europe," "Spanish Renaissance Theatre," "French Renaissance and Neo-Classical Theatre," etc.
The Book of Forms
by Lewis Turco
Call Number: REF PN1042.T78 2000 (LC RH)
Hanover, NH: University Press of New England, 2000.
Companion volume to The Book of Literary Terms (see this section). Contains information essential to a study of verse and verse techniques from the Middle Ages to the present."
Key Sources in Comparative and World Literature
by George A. Thompson
Call Number: PN523.A1 T47 1982 (RH)
New York, NY: Unger, 1982.
Annotated guide to reference materials that concern comparative and world literature.
Biography and Genealogy Master Index
by Miranda C. Herbert (Ed.)
Call Number: REF +CT213.B5 1980 (RH)
Detroit, MI: Gale, 1980.
Eight-volume "compass" leading to thousands of biographical sketches (historical and contemporary)
Book Review Index
Call Number: REF Z1035.B54 (RH)
Detroit, MI: Gale, 1965.
Vol. 1, Jan. 1965
Similar to Book Review Digest in its approach to indexing reviews to contemporary publications; coverage from the mid-1960s.
Encyclopedia of World Literature in the 20th Century
by Steven R. Serafin (Ed.)
Call Number: REF PN771.E53 1999 (RH)
Detroit, MI: St. James Press, 1999.
Descriptions of "types" of literature, (i.e., Turkish, Macedonian, Lusatanian), and information covering lives and careers of significant literary figures from around the globe.
Revised and enlarged.
McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of World Drama: An International Reference Work in 5 Volumes
by Stanley Hochman (Ed.)
Call Number: REF PN1625.M3 1984 (RH)
New York, NY: McGraw-Hill, 1984.
Arranged by name of playwright, title of play, etc.; many illustrations
Encyclopedia of the Novel
by Paul Schellinger (Ed.)
Call Number: REF PN41.E587 1998 (RH)
Chicago, IL: Fitzroy Dearborn, 1998.
Alphabetical arrangement of signed entries covering vast territory; treatment spans genres, titles, and authors (i.e., "Gothic Novel," "The Last Temptation of Christ," "Manuel Guig," etc.).
Encyclopedia of Contemporary Literary Theory: Approaches, Scholars, Terms
by Irena R. Makaryk (Ed.)
Call Number: REF PN81.E44 1993 (RH)
Toronto: University of Toronto Press, 1993.
Single volume with signed entries covering individuals, movements, and terms.
Encyclopedia of Philosophy
by Donald M. Borchert
Call Number: REF B51.E53 (RH LC)
Detroit, MI: Macmillan, 2006.
Philosophers and definitions of philosophical terms, movements, etc.; also available as an E-book in catalog.
Reference & Instruction Department
Reference & Instruction Department
Fordham University Libraries
Walsh Library ♦ Rose Hill Campus ♦ 718-817-3586 Quinn Library♦ Lincoln Center Campus ♦ 212-636-6050 Fordham Westchester Library♦ Fordham Westchester Campus ♦ 914-367-3061 firstname.lastname@example.org ♦ text 71-TXTX-1284