Research Guides @ Fordham: Medicine & Health: General Medical Resources

Medical Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

Spanish-English Medical Dictionary: 3rd ed by Onyria H. McElroy
Call Number: R121 .M488 2005
Baltimore, MD: Lippincott Williams & Wilkins, 2005.
The American Heritage Medical Dictionary
Call Number: R121 .A4446 2008
Boston, MA: Houghton Mifflin, 2008.
Black's Student Medical Dictionary: 2nd ed
Call Number: R121 .B599 2007
London: A & C Black, 2007.
Dictionary of Medical Biography
Call Number: R121 .D57 2007
Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 2007.
Dorland's Illustrated Medical Dictionary, 33rd Ed. by Dorland
Call Number: R121 .D77 2019
Philadelphia, PA : Elsevier Saunders, 2019
Melloni's Illustrated Medical Dictionary: 4th ed
Call Number: R121 .M52 2002
Boca Raton, FL: Parthenon Publishing, 2002.
Mosby's Dictionary of Medicine, Nursing and Health Professions
Call Number: R121 .M67 2009
St. Louis, Mo. : Mosby/Elsevier, 2009
Mosby's Medical Dictionary by Marie O'Toole
Call Number: R121 .M89 2017
St. Louis, Missouri : Elsevier, 2017
The Facts on File Encyclopedia of Health and Medicine
Call Number: R121 .R68 2006
New York, NY: Facts on File, 2006.
Stedman's Abbreviations, Acronyms and Symbols: 3rd ed
Call Number: R121 .S69 2003
Baltimore, MD: Lippincott Williams & Wilkins, 2003.
Taber's Cyclopedic Medical Dictionary
Call Number: R121 .T22 2017
Philadelphia : F.A. Davis Company, 2017
Elsevier's Dictionary of Abbreviations, Acronyms, Synonyms and Symbols Used in Medicine: 2nd Enlarged ed. by Samuel A. Tsur
Call Number: R121 .T787 2004
Amsterdam: Elsevier, 2004.
Black's Medical Dictionary: 43rd ed.
Online Resource
Boston, Massachusetts : Credo Reference, 2018

Selected General Medicine Journals

British Medical Journal
The BMJ (British Medical Journal) is an international peer reviewed medical journal and a fully “online first” publication.
Years available: 1840 - 70 days ago
JAMA - Journal of the American Medical Association
JAMA, published continuously since 1883, is an international peer-reviewed general medical journal.
Years available: 1998 - Present
Journal of Clinical Investigation
The Journal of Clinical Investigation is a venue for critical advances in biomedical research.
Years available: 1924 - Present
Journal of Experimental Medicine
Journal of Experimental Medicine is a monthly peer-reviewed medical journal published by Rockefeller University Press that publishes research papers and commentaries on the physiological, pathological, and molecular mechanisms that encompass the host response to disease.
Years available: 1896 - 6 months ago
Nature Medicine
Nature Medicine publishes research that addresses the needs and goals of contemporary medicine. Original research ranges from new concepts in human biology and disease pathogenesis to robust preclinical bases for new therapeutic modalities and drug development to all phases of clinical work, as well as innovative technologies aimed at improving human health.
Years available: 1998 - 1 year ago
New England Journal of Medicine
The NEJM publishesresearch and information at the intersection of biomedical science and clinical practice and to present this information in understandable and clinically useful formats that inform health care delivery and improve patient outcomes.
Years available: 1980 - 3 months ago

Library of Congress Call Numbers - Medicine

Library of Congress Call Numbers for Medical topics:

R - Medicine (General)
RA - Public aspects of medicine
RB - Pathology
RC - Internal medicine
RD - Surgery
RE - Ophthalmology
RF - Otorhinolaryngology
RG - Gynecology and obstetrics
RJ - Pediatrics
RK - Dentistry
RL - Dermatology
RM - Therapeutics. Pharmacology
RS - Pharmacy and materia medica
RT - Nursing
RV - Botanic, Thomsonian, and eclectic medicine
RX - Homeopathy
RZ - Other systems of medicine

Medical Reference Books

The Medical Library Association's Master Guide to Authoritative Information Resources in the Health Sciences by Laurie L. Thompson; Mori Lou Higa; Esther Carrigan; Rajia Tobia; Medical Library Association Staff (Contribution by)
Call Number: R118.2 .M38 2011
New York : Neal-Schuman Publishers, 2011
Salem Health: Genetics and Inherited Conditions, Second Edition by Gary M. Flashner (Editor)
Call Number: RH Sci Ref RB155.5 .G4616 2017
Ipswich, MA: Salem Press, 2017
Introduction to Reference Sources in the Health Sciences (6th Edition) by Jeffrey T. Huber
ISBN: 9780838919569
Online Resource
Chicago, Illinois : ALA Neal-Schuman, 2014
Oxford American Handbook of Clinical Medicine by John A. Flynn (Editor); Michael J. Choi (Editor); L. Dwight Wooster (Editor)
Oxford : Oxford University Press, 2013
Atlas of Anatomy by Anne M. Gilroy (Editor); Brian R. MacPherson; Markus M. Voll (Illustrator); Karl Wesker (Illustrator); Michael Schünke; Erik Schulte; Udo Schumacher; Anne Gilroy
Call Number: QM25 .A85 2016
New York : Thieme, 2016

Popular Books on Medicine

The Demon under the Microscope by Thomas Hager
Call Number: RM666.S9 H34 2006
New York : Harmony Books, 2006
The Greatest Benefit to Mankind by Roy Porter
Call Number: R131 .P59 1998
New York : W.W. Norton, 1998
Five Days at Memorial by Sheri Fink
Call Number: RA975.D57 F56 2013
New York : Crown Publishers, 2013
Stiff by Mary Roach
Call Number: R853.H8 R635 2003
New York : W.W. Norton and Company, 2003
Complications by Atul Gawande
Call Number: RD27.35.G39 A3 2002
New York : Metropolitan Books, 2002

Alternative and Complementary Medicine Resources

Gale Encyclopedia of Alternative Medicine by Laurie J. Fundukian (Editor)
Call Number: R733 .G34 2009
Detroit : Gale, Cengage Learning, 2009 (Print resource)
Farmington Hills, Mich. : Gale, Cengage Learning, 2014 (Online resource)
The Encyclopedia of Complementary and Alternative Medicine by Tova Navarra; Adam Perlman (Foreword by)
Call Number: R733 .N38 2004
ISBN: 0816049971
New York : Facts On File, 2004
The Duke Family Guide to New Medicine by Duke University Center for Integrative Medicine Staff
Call Number: R733 .D96 2006
London ; New York : Rodale, 2006

Medicine & Health: General Medical Resources

Medical Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

Selected General Medicine Journals

Library of Congress Call Numbers - Medicine

Medical Reference Books

Popular Books on Medicine

Alternative and Complementary Medicine Resources

Reference & Instruction Department