Skip to main content

Getting Started at the Fordham University Libraries: Online Students

Getting Started: Online Students

Get started as an online student using the Fordham Libraries.

We're here to help!

Research Support

Library resources to help

with your research questions:

  • The Fordham Library Catalog and OneSearch Discovery connect you to the Library’s print and electronic holdings
  • Access scholarly, peer-reviewed articles through our Databases. Browse by subject or select a comprehensive database like EBSCOHost to get started with your research. Use our Research Guides as a roadmap for your research process.
  • For research questions relating to the Online MSW program, follow this guide. For research questions relating to the Online GSE program, follow this guide. For research questions relating to the Online GRE program, follow this guide.
  • E-journals and e-books are available, often in full text. All of these resources can be found on the library homepage through remote access.
  • Can’t find something on ARES? Check OneSearch or our Databases for the item. Further questions? Contact libraryreserve@fordham.edu.

Technology Partner Support

Several teams are available to help you with technical issues and program questions. All faculty and students may chat with the Technical Team from their 2FOR homepage 24/7.

  • Social Work Students: email the Student Success Team at studentsupport@onlinemsw.fordham.edu or call 855-572-9681 for program related questions and issues.
  • Education Students: email the Student Success Team at studentsuccess@gseonline.fordham.edu or call 855-563-0962 for program related questions and issues.
  • Gabelli Students: email the Student Success Team at studentsuccess@onlinebusiness.fordham.edu or call 833-894-8780 for program related questions and issues. 

Fordham IT Support

Need help with your Fordham login credentials, Gmail account, or using a VPN? Visit the Fordham IT website for assistance with accessing the university's online resources.

Decorative

Course Reserves

We can help with your everyday classroom needs...
Course Reserves—both physical and electronic (Ares)—contain pertinent course readings and materials your professors have designated specifically for your courses. (Ares course page passwords are disseminated only by your faculty members.)

A PDF guide to using Ares for students, with screenshots, is available here. You can also watch a video tutorial on Ares here.

Library Services

Fordham students in the online learning programs enjoy borrowing privileges for materials owned and available at the Fordham University Libraries. Borrowing Fordham materials may be conducted in person at any Fordham campus library using your digital ID to checkout, or through our Interlibrary Loan Department (ILL) for Fordham materials to be mailed to your home. 

Fordham’s online-only graduate students and faculty have access to Fordham’s interlibrary loan (ILL) service. Interlibrary loan’s primary focus for those involved in the online-only programs is to provide digital materials of articles and book chapters. Loans from outside libraries will not be requested via ILL unless the student/faculty member is able to travel to one of Fordham’s three campuses to retrieve and return. In addition to providing digital copies, Fordham Libraries has developed a plan that allows affiliates of the online-only program living in the U.S. to access its physical circulating collection.

For more information and to create an account, click here and then the "First Time Users" link on the ILLiad home page. When creating an account, choose Online Only-Graduate as one’s status and Virtual Campus as one’s delivery location. Please notify Charlotte Labbé (labbe@fordham.edu), Head of Interlibrary Loan, once you have created an ILLiad account.

Document Delivery allows current students to obtain email delivery of print resources not already available electronically through Fordham's databases and e-journals. Items available in our electronic holdings, including electronic reserves, will not be sent through our Document Delivery service.
All requests must meet the copyright guidelines set forth in
Title 17 of the U.S. Code, governing copyright and fair use, in order to be processed. We attempt to fill all requests in the order they are received. If resources are stretched, we reserve the right to limit the number of requests per user to 5 articles each business day (Monday-Friday).
Please complete all fields in this online
Document Delivery Request Form to submit your request.

Having trouble opening an article on your laptop? Struggling to navigate a specific database. Click here to get tips for remote access, best practices for access problems, and contact information for when you need it.

Loading ...

Access to Other Libraries

Fordham students in the online learning programs enjoy access privileges at a number of university, college and institutional libraries throughout the country, with the presentation of your Fordham University digital ID. A full list of institutions participating in reciprocal access programs with Fordham is available as a PDF download below.

Please contact the library you are interested in using to determine the access policies and/or restrictions before visiting in person. Please note that some of our reciprocal access partners may have visitor restrictions during certain hours of the day or during certain periods of the year.

Video Resources

A range of video and multimedia resources are available to online students, including:

  • The Alexander Street Press, a streaming multimedia service offering access to music, films and documentaries, and more from content providers such as the BBC, Broadway HD, and Filmakers Library, among others.
  • Library Instructional Videos, a collection of library-produced videos to assist students with searching for research materials, APA style formatting, and other content.
  • Video on Demand, a multidisciplinary collection of lectures, talks, and other University-related video content available for streaming.

Ask-a-Librarian

Not sure where or how to start your research? Chat with a librarian now!

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

Distance Learning Liaison

Kirsten Lee's picture
Kirsten Lee
Chat loading...
Contact:
Lincoln Center Campus
Quinn Library
Room 202
bkilee@fordham.edu
212-636-6060

Library Tutorial

Decorative

The Fordham University Library Tutorial was created to give you a basic overview of how to conduct academic research and how to use our digital collections and services.

Click here to get started.

Circulation & Reserve Departments

Circulation & Reserve Departments
Fordham University Libraries


Walsh Library  ♦  Rose Hill Campus  ♦  718-817-5109  ♦  718-817-3578
Quinn Library  ♦  Lincoln Center Campus  ♦  212-636-6062  ♦  212-636-6061
Fordham Westchester Library  ♦  Fordham Westchester Campus  ♦  914-367-3060  ♦  914-367-3061

univlib@fordham.edu   ♦   intercampus@fordham.edu   ♦   libraryreserve@fordham.edu