Research Guides @ Fordham: Fordham Museum of Greek, Etruscan, and Roman Art: Roman Sculpture

Roman Empire

Roman Portraits in Context by Jane Fejfer
Berlin and New York: Walter de Gruyter, 2008.
Mutilation and Transformation: Damnatio Memoriae and Roman Imperial Portraiture by Eric R. Varner
Call Number: (RH) +DE59 .M6 V.10
Leiden and Boston: Brill, 2004.
I Claudia II: Women in Roman Art and Society by Diana E. E. Kleiner (Editor); Susan B. Matheson (Editor)
Call Number: N5763 .I253 2000 (RH)
University of Texas Press, 2000.
The Power of Images in the Age of Augustus by Paul Zanker
Call Number: N5760 .Z36 1990 (LC)
University of Michigan Press, 1990.

Hellenistic and Roman Ideal Sculpture: The Allure of the Classical by Rachel Meredith Kousser
Call Number: (RH) NB94 .K69 2008
Cambridge University Press, 2008.
The Aesthetics of Emulation in the Visual Arts of Ancient Rome by Ellen Perry
Call Number: (RH) NB115 .P47 2005
Cambridge University Press, 2005.
The Roman Nude: Heroic Portrait Statue, 200 BC - AD 300 by Christopher H. Hallett
Call Number: NB1296.3 .H35 2005 (RH)
Oxford University Press, 2005

Check out the list compiled by the Classical Art Research Centre at Oxford and the Cast Collection of the Museum of Classical Archaeology at Cambridge

Roman Art by Paul Zanker
Call Number: N5760 .Z3313 2010
The J. Paul Getty Museum, 2010.
Roman Sculpture by Diana E. Kleiner
Call Number: (RH) +NB115 .K57 1992
Yale University Press, 1992.

Resources available from and hosted by the American Academy in Rome

Library of Latin Texts Online (CLCLT) This link opens in a new window
Full text of classical, medieval and modern Latin literature. Replaces the CETEDOC library.
Sources Chrétiennes Online This link opens in a new window
Searchable counterpart to the “Sources Chrétiennes” series of texts published by Éditions du Cerf, Paris. By 2025, the database will incorporate the source texts from the more than 600 printed volumes, in Latin, Greek, Syriac, Armenian and Georgian, sided by French translations and allowing for targeted and filtered searches.When browsing, you can use the option "Availability" to limit the results to the works/authors/volumes that are already completed and include text.
To start, the database contains the texts of 385 out of about 600 printed volumes. Four updates per year are scheduled. All volumes will be available by 2025.
Thesaurus Linguae Latinae (TLL) This link opens in a new window
Largest Latin dictionary in the world; the first to cover all the Latin texts from the classical period up to about 600 A.D. TLL is updated regularly. A full list of features can be found by clicking "About" at the top-right of any page within the database.
Free access to PDF versions of previously published content is available here:
https://www.thesaurus.badw.de/en/tll-digital/tll-open-access.html

Life, Death and Representation: Some New Work on Roman Sarcophagi by Jas Elsner (Editor); Janet Huskinson (Editor)
New York: De Gruyter, 2010.
Roman Children's Sarcophagi: Their Decoration and its Social Significance by Janet Huskinson
Call Number: (RH) +NB1810 .H87 1996
Oxford: Claredon Press, 1996.
Myth, Meaning, and Memory on Roman Sarcophagi by Michael Koortbojian
Call Number: NB133.5.S46 K66 1995
University of California Press, 1995.