Open access collection of outstanding out-of-print books in the humanities available as free e-books courtesy of The Humanities Open Book project. Once in a title you can download in EPUB or Mobi format.
Over 2000 monographs across the Humanities and Social Sciences. Publishers include Fordham University Press, NYU Press, Cornell University Press, University of California Press, Princeton University Press, and Yale University Press. Growing collection.
The Open Data Center (ODC) is a redesigned and expanded version of the NJ YourMoney website established in 2010. All state data is now accessible with sophisticated filtering, sorting and charting capabilities.
The NYC Open Data portal is a powerful tool that ensures transparency and fosters civic innovation to help improve the quality of life for all New Yorkers. Data is gathered by the Mayor’s Office of Data Analytics (MODA) and the Department of Information Technology and Telecommunications (DoITT).
NYC Planning's Population FactFinder allows you to define study areas within New York City easily and examine detailed population profiles showing critical demographic, social, economic, and housing statistics, and how these statistics have changed over time.
CLOCKSS is a not-for-profit joint venture between the world’s leading academic publishers and research libraries whose mission is to build a sustainable, geographically distributed dark archive with which to ensure the long-term survival of Web-based scholarly publications for the benefit of the global research community. Content no longer available from any publisher ("triggered content") is available for free. CLOCKSS assigns this abandoned and orphaned content a Creative Commons license to ensure it remains available forever.
A selective bibliography of articles in the various fields of Jewish studies. Compiled from thousands of periodicals and collections of articles in many languages mainly from the holdings of the Jewish National and University Library.
Collabra is University of California Press's open access journal program. The Collabra program currently publishes Collabra: Psychology and Elementa: Science of the Anthropocene, with plans for continued expansion and journal acquistion.
Wiley's fully open access journals are immediately freely available to read, download and share. The fully open access journals are published in collaboration with authoritative journals. To access content, choose "Journal Information" under the relevant title.
News dispatches of the Washington, D.C., Bureau of the Associated Press spanning 1915-1930 and consisting of 375 volumes (387,082 images), housed in 254 boxes, the contents of which provide an unbroken chronology of world and national events as reported by the news agency.
A project of the Catholic Research Resources Alliance (CRRA) to provide enduring global access to Catholic research resources. Contains 70+ years of The Catholic Worker (1943-2016), 50+ years of The Catholic Telegraph (Cincinnati), 20+ years of The Catholic Transcript (Hartford), and more. Click on "Titles" to see entire archive.
Provides access to information about historic newspapers and select digitized newspaper pages. Produced by the National Digital Newspaper Program, a partnership between the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress.
Collection of cultural, historical, legal, governmental, and research materials relating to the Caribbean. Includes newspapers, official documents, maps, artifacts and more. Register for free MydLOC account for advanced features.
Folger Shakespeare Library, home of the world's largest and finest Shakespeare collection, offers high-quality digital texts of Shakespeare's plays, sonnets, and poems. Includes free downloading of the source code for noncommercial Shakespeare projects.
Partnership of major research institutions and libraries creating digital archive of library materials. Full text access only to the portion of the archive that are public domain works, indicated by "Full View". Downloading or printing depends on each title's copyright status. Click into each title to see entitlements on the left sidebar.
Gateway for a broad range of resources and information for all sectors and countries of Latin America and the Caribbean. Includes policy briefs, working papers, annual reports, monographs, statistics, economic indicators, data visualizations for various socio-economic variables and more.
A collaboration between Oxford University Press and the National Gallery of Art. The site features eight units, each of which explores a different theme in Italian Renaissance art and is complemented by lavish illustrations and resources for educators.
Fordham students, faculty and staff have free access with a NYPL card. Online educational site that includes over 3,000 courses (and over 130,000 videos) in popular fields like web design, web development, IT, education/instruction, media production, and business.You must register with the NYPL for a library card to get access.
International library consortium with the sole mission of advancing open access to research in academic journals across the humanities disciplines. All academic articles are subject to rigorous peer review.
Curated by a community of music scholars, students, teachers and librarians, this OA resource brings together peer-reviewed journal articles, books, music scores, audio, and video recordings from the world’s digital collections.
Online archive of public and private programming featuring the world’s foremost writers, intellectuals, and artists in candid and often heated discourse about the most relevant cultural and political issues of our times.
Books, journals and other intellectual output of the World Bank.
What is Open Access?
Shockey, Nick, and Jonathan Eisen. “Open Access Explained!” YouTube. YouTube, n.d. Web. 25 Aug. 2015.
"...let us save what remains: not by vaults and locks which fence them from the public eye and use in consigning them to the waste of time, but by such a multiplication of copies, as shall place them beyond the reach of accident."