Skip to main content

Education : Databases/Articles

Resources on Education topics for research, lesson plans, school administration, bilingual education, and counseling services; Librarian Nick Alongi, Editor.

Best Databases

Legend

The following icons are used in the databases lists:

Limited simultaneous users. Limited simultaneous users.
Separate password required Password required.
Contains open access content.Open access content.
Contains multimedia content such as music or video.Contains multimedia content such as music or video.
Contains statistical data. Contains statistical data.

Use Library of Congress Sub-Divisions

Using Library of Congress sub-divisions can lead to more precise searching. Here are some examples for Education:

*Best All-Around

--Study and teaching   "If you could have only one subdivision for education topics --Study and teaching would be it because it serves both people wanting to learn a subject and people wanting to teach a subject. Use this terminology instead of the expected "teaching methods." EX: foreign language -- study and teaching

--Instruction and study

--Education  "Refers to works on education provided for groups of people."

--Knowledge and learning   "Used to describe the education, formal or informal, that an individual receives"

--In-service training

--Training of   "For methods of instructing occupational groups 'to prepare them for employment'

TEACHING AND LEARNING

--Problems, exercises   "'Compilations of practice problems or exercises'"

--Activity programs

--Textbooks

--Curricula  "What to teach and plans for teaching it"

 ASSESSMENT

--Evaluation   "Used to cover both the methods of assessment and the results themselves"

--Testing

--Ability testing

--Intelligence testing

--Psychological testing

--Examinations

SCHOOLS (All levels)

--Administration

--Finance

--Entrance examinations

--Entrance requirements

--Admission

--Buildings

--Sports

--Security measures

--Faculty

--Undergraduates

--Graduate students

--Alumni and alumnae

 * From the book Magic search: Getting the best results from your catalog and beyond/Kornegay, R.S. et al. (2009). Chicago: American Library Association.

For more reading about Library of Congress sub-divisions in searching, read Magic search (REF Z695.Z8 L523 2009) at the Fordham Westchester Library.

 

Get Articles & Studies

For clinical literature, see Databases/Articles at the top of the guide to find these articles.

Hint:

To find studies, paste this string of terms into an additional search bar in the database you are using:

  • study OR research OR methodology OR subjects OR data OR results OR findings OR discussion OR conclusion

Need Materials from Outside Fordham?

Cannot find items you need for your research?

  • Materials not owned by Fordham can be requested through Interlibrary Loan.
  • Consortia privileges provide you with additional access to other research collections beyond Fordham’s holdings.

Document Delivery

Document Delivery Service

The Document Delivery Service allows Fordham University faculty and graduate students to obtain email delivery of journal articles not available electronically through the Fordham databases but which are available in print in the library.

This service was established to allow faculty, and now students, to request and receive research materials with proper copyright clearance via their Fordham email accounts.

Reference & Instruction Department

Reference & Instruction Department
Fordham University Libraries


Walsh Library  ♦  Rose Hill Campus  ♦  718-817-3586   
Quinn Library  ♦  Lincoln Center Campus  ♦  212-636-6050   
Fordham Westchester Library  ♦  Fordham Westchester Campus  ♦  914-367-3061 

library@fordham.edu   ♦   text 71-TXTX-1284