Research Guides @ Fordham: Classics: Articles, Databases, Indexes &amp; Thesauri

Databases and Indexes

Art & Architecture Complete This link opens in a new window
Index and abstracts to hundreds of periodicals, trade publications and books with links to full text when available.
Artstor This link opens in a new window
Hundreds of thousands of online images of paintings, sculptures, architecture and other works of art. Remote Users: Must Make Personal Account on Campus before trying remote access. After signing in with your Fordham Username (formerly AccessIT ID), sign in again with personal account username and password. Must disable your browser’s pop-up blocker.
ARTSTOR MERGING INTO JSTOR 8/1/2024. ALL ARTSTOR IMAGE GROUPS WILL BE COPIED TO JSTOR WORKSPACE DURING 2/2024.CLICK HERE FOR INFORMATION.
Dyabola This link opens in a new window
German Archaeological Institute database of classical archaeology books and articles from 1956 to the present.
Jacoby Online This link opens in a new window
A study of the ancient Greek historians. A unique reference work bringing together Felix Jacoby’s monumental Die Fragmente der Griechischen Historiker Parts I-III, Brill’s New Jacoby, the new edition of these three parts, and the completely new Parts IV and V. Updates to these products made several times a year.Click on Search and browse button to see content.
Die Fragmente der Griechischen Historiker (part of Jacoby Online) This link opens in a new window
Fragments of the Greek historians that comprise Felix Jacoby's monumental work.
JSTOR (EXPANDED COLLECTIONS) This link opens in a new window
The JSTOR archive provides full text of numerous Classical Studies scholarly journals. (Choose Advanced Search. Limit your search to Classical Studies). Use the advanced search, limit by subject: Classics.
Collections with Access:
Arts & Sciences I through XV, Ireland, Life Sciences, Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa, World Heritage Sites: Africa, Business IV, Hebrew Journals, Lives of Literature, Public Health, Security Studies, Sustainability, Global Plants,19th Century British Pamphlets
L'Annee Philologique-Bibliography of the Classical World This link opens in a new window
Updated regularly, this is an index of books and articles on ancient Greece and Rome. Check the catalog or OneSearch for full text. L'Année philologique is published by the Société Internationale de Bibliographie Classique, in collaboration with the French Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique (CNRS) and the American Philological Association (APA). Older index in print : (RH) Ref Z7016.M35A
Loeb Classical Library Online This link opens in a new window
The digital Loeb Classical Library continues the historic mission of making all that is important in Greek and Latin literature available and fully searchable with accurate, literate, English translations. Currently more than 520 volumes.
New Pauly Online This link opens in a new window
Full text of the Pauly encyclopedia of classical studies. For print editions see: Der Neue Pauly. Stuttgart: J.B.Metzler, 1996. (LC, RH) Ref P1.P334 and Der Neue Pauly, English . Boston: Brill, 2002 (RH) Ref P1.P332
Brill's New Pauly Supplements Online I This link opens in a new window
Includes Der Neue Pauly Supplemente I Online
Brill's New Pauly Supplements Online II This link opens in a new window
Includes Der Neue Pauly Supplemente II Online
Oxford Bibliographies Online This link opens in a new window
Use the advanced search, limit by subject: Classics.
PHI - Greek Inscriptions This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive database of ancient Greek inscriptions.
PHI - Latin Texts, Bible Versions This link opens in a new window
Latin literary texts written before A.D. 200, as well as some texts selected from later antiquity.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar indexes the full text of a wide array of scholarly literature across many disciplines. Use Advanced Search for more refined results.

Selected Electronic Journals

Below are selected electronic journals in the field. The library may own one journal in multiple formats (electronic, print, and microform). For a more comprehensive list of our journal holdings, please consult the catalog.

Full Text Thesauri and Indexes

Bibliotheca Teubneriana Latina (BTL) This link opens in a new window
Comprises the data of BTL 4, supplemented by the texts of all Latin editions of the Bibliotheca Scriptorum Graecorum et Romanorum Teubneriana printed by 2008. Content updated annually.
Thesaurus Linguae Latinae (TLL) is now separate from BTL, and is listed on Alpha Tab (T) and Classics Subject.
Database of Latin Dictionaries This link opens in a new window
Classical and Medieval Latin dictionaries.
Thesaurus Linguae Graecae (TLG) This link opens in a new window
Complete texts of all classical Greek literature from Homer to the fall of the Byzantium in AD 1453. The new interface requires all users to establish a user profile.
Thesaurus Linguae Latinae (TLL) This link opens in a new window
Largest Latin dictionary in the world; the first to cover all the Latin texts from the classical period up to about 600 A.D. TLL is updated regularly. A full list of features can be found by clicking "About" at the top-right of any page within the database.
Free access to PDF versions of previously published content is available here:
https://www.thesaurus.badw.de/en/tll-digital/tll-open-access.html

Thesaurus Linguae Graecae (TLG)

Contains the full-text of virtually all ancient Greek texts surviving from the period between Homer (8th century B.C.) and A.D. 600, and a large number of texts deriving from the period between A.D. 600 and 1453. The online version is updated regularly with new texts as they become available.

Berkowitz, Luci. Thesaurus Linguae Graecae Canon of Greek Authors and Works. 3d ed. New York: Oxford University Press, 1990.

print: (RH) Ref PA3051.B47

In Principio – Incipit Index of Latin. Institut de recherche et d'histoire des textes (France). [Turnhout]: Brepols, 2000.

Index to Latin texts from pre-classical age to Renaissance. Electronic access provided via CD-ROM held at the Reference Desk: (RH - Ref Desk) W DATA CD 145

Packard Humanities Institute (PHI) CD-ROM Collection: Latin Texts, Bible Versions.

Full texts of Latin literature, bible versions, and selected works. Electronic access provided via CD-ROM held at the Reference Desk: (RH - Ref Desk) W DATA CD SER 23 # 7, # 5.3.

Classics: Articles, Databases, Indexes & Thesauri

Databases and Indexes

Google Scholar

Selected Electronic Journals

Full Text Thesauri and Indexes

Reference & Instruction Department