Research Guides @ Fordham: Biographical Research: Sports, Entertainment & Arts

Sports

Latino and African American Athletes Today: A Biographical Dictionary by David L. Porter (Editor)
Call Number: (RH) Ref GV697.A1 L345 2004
Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 2004.
International Encyclopedia of Women and Sports by Karen Christensen (Editor); Allen Guttmann (Editor); Gertrude Pfister (Editor)
Call Number: (RH) Ref GV709 .I58
New York: Macmillan Reference USA, 2001.
Biographies of women athletes and sports administrators as well as general articles about women and sports.
Scribner's Encyclopedia of American Lives: Sports Figures by Arnie Markoe (Editor)
New York, N.Y.: Charles Scribner's Sons, 2002.
Biographies of athletes from a wide variety of sports including bowling, polo, auto racing, etc. Occupation and subject indices.
Great Athletes, Rev. ed. by Rafer Johnson (Consultant Editor); Salem Press Editors (Editor); Dawn P. Dawson (Editor-In-Chief); R. Kent Rasmussen (Editorial Coordinator)
Call Number: (RH) Ref GV697.A1 G68, 8 vols.
Pasadena, Calif.: Salem Press, 2002.
Biographies indexed by name, sport, and country; with photos, glossary, awards, halls of fame, and a timeline.
Biographical Dictionary of American Sports: Baseball, Rev. ed. by David L. Porter
Call Number: (RH) Ref GV865.A1 B55, 3 vols.
Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 2000.
Biographies of Major league players, managers, executives, and umpires, also included are All-American Girls League players.

Baker's Biographical Dictionary of Musicians, centennial edition by Nicolas Slonimsky (Editor)
Call Number: (LC, RH) Ref ML105 .B3, 6 vols.
New York: Schirmer Books, 2001.
Biographies of musicians, living and deceased, contemporary and classical.
Benezit Dictionary of Artists by Editions Grund (Editor)
Call Number: (LC RH) Ref N40 .B47, 14 vols.
Paris: Gründ, 2006.
Includes brief biographical profiles as well as bibliographies, museum & gallery collections of note, selected auction records and artist signature reproductions.
The Dictionary of Art by Jane Turner (Editor)
Call Number: (LC RH) Ref N31 .D5, 34 vols.
New York: Grove's Dictionaries, 1996.
A multi-volume set with biographies of artists from all periods and countries.
International Dictionary of Modern Dance by Taryn Benbow-Pfalzgraf (Editor); Glynis Benbow-Niemier (Contribution by); St. James Press Staff
Call Number: (LC RH) Ref GV1585.I58.
Detroit, MI: St. James Press, 1998.
Brief Biographies, lists of roles danced, bibliographies, and photos.
The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, 2nd ed. by Stanley Sadie (Editor); John Tyrrell (Editor)
Call Number: ( LC RH) Ref ML100.N48, 29 vols.
New York: Grove's Dictionaries, 2001.
The St. James Women Filmmakers Encyclopedia: Women on the Other Side of the Camera by St. James Press Staff; Amy L. Unterburger
Call Number: (LC, RH) Ref PN1998.2. S683 1999
Detroit: Visible Ink Press, 1999.
Brief biographies and filmographies, some photos.

Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
Resources for art research including Grove Art Online - the world's largest art encyclopedia and Encyclopedia of Aesthetics. Fordham University community can ignore the log in box! Subscription DOES NOT INCLUDE Benezit Dictionary of Artists.
Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new window
Resources for music research including Grove Music Online - the leading dictionary of music, musicians, opera and jazz. Fordham University community can ignore the log in box!