Skip to main content

American History: Encyclopedias

Research information and Fordham library resources in American history; Librarian Jeannie Hoag, Editor.

E-book Collections

Legend

The following icons are used in the databases lists:

Limited simultaneous users. Limited simultaneous users.
Separate password required Password required.
Contains open access content.Open access content.
Contains multimedia content such as music or video.Contains multimedia content such as music or video.
Contains statistical data. Contains statistical data.

Books

Campus Library Designations

RH  =  Walsh Library at Rose Hill, Bronx

LC  =  Quinn Library at Lincoln Center

WC =  Westchester Campus Library (Fordham Westchester Library)

Dictionaries

There are historical dictionaries focusing on most . . .

  • time periods (Gilded Age, Jacksonian era etc.)
     
  • social movements (Civil Rights, Green etc.)
     
  • events (Great Depression, War of 1812 etc.)
     
  • issues (slavery, arms control etc.)
     
  • diplomacy (United States-China Relations etc.) in U.S. History. 

Search the catalog using the term Historical Dictionary in the Title field and the specific topic in the Words and Phrases field.

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedias

Reference & Instruction Department

Reference & Instruction Department
Fordham University Libraries


Walsh Library  ♦  Rose Hill Campus  ♦  718-817-3586   
Quinn Library  ♦  Lincoln Center Campus  ♦  212-636-6050   
Fordham Westchester Library  ♦  Fordham Westchester Campus  ♦  914-367-3061 

library@fordham.edu   ♦   text 71-TXTX-1284