Skip to main content

Alumni Library Services: Library Services for Alumni

Library Services for Alumni

Reading Privileges

All Fordham alumni with a valid RamPass have reading privileges at all Fordham libraries during regular operating hours. Reading privileges allow alumni the opportunity to look at any resource within the Library. 

Fordham alumni with a valid Alumni RamPass may obtain borrowing privileges at Walsh, Quinn or Westchester libraries for an annual fee of $100. Please inquire at the Circulation Desk.  Please see additional information about borrowing privileges below. 

Note: During Study Zone Hours, only currently enrolled Fordham students, faculty and University staff members are granted access to the Libraries.

Borrowing Privileges

Fordham alumni with a valid Alumni RamPass may obtain borrowing privileges at Walsh, Quinn or Westchester libraries for an annual fee of $100. Please inquire at the Circulation Desk.

The alumni borrowing privilege

  • can be purchased with cash or check only;
  • is good for one year from date of payment;
  • includes a maximum of 10 items checked out on the alumni borrowing record at any given time;
  • includes placing holds on materials located at all three campus libraries;
  • does not provide remote access to electronic holdings, such as database or e-journal access;
  • does not include Interlibrary Loan privileges. 

Alumni who have paid the borrowing fee have access to the "My Account" system, found in the Library catalog, where renewals and placing holds may be facilitated online.  To access "My Account", the user ID is the alumni bar code number that is on their Ram Pass and the phrase "changeme" is the PIN.  Note that for alumni who have not paid for borrowing privileges, there is no access to "My Account."

Placing Holds

To request books from another Fordham campus online, please follow these steps:

  • Visit the Library homepage
  • Scroll over "My Accounts" (top left) and click on "Library"
  • Click on "Review My Account" to log in to your library account
  • Log in using the bar code that is on your Ram Pass as the User ID, and the phrase "changeme" as the PIN
  • Once logged in, click on "Search/Home" (toolbar right under the Fordham Library Catalog banner) and begin your search
  • Now that you are logged into the catalog, you will notice a "Place Hold" link under each resulting record found during your search
  • Click the "Place Hold" link on any circulating items you wish to request, select the library in which you wish to pick up the item, and click on the "Place Hold" rectangle to complete your request
  • When you are done with your catalog search, click on "Logout" at the top right-hand corner of the web page to exit your account

Loan Period

General Collections

Alumni with borrowing privileges may borrow books for 28 days.

There is a limit of 10 checkouts on an alumni borrower's account at any one time.

Library notices for overdue books, recalls, and hold pickups will be sent via e-mail designated for your library account. .

Audio/Visual Materials

Music CDs, DVDs and VHS cassettes may be borrowed for 5 days.
Books with CD-ROM are available in EIC and may be borrowed for 28 days.

Reserve Materials

DVDs and VHS cassettes in the Walsh Library EIC are available for 4 hours.

DVDs and VHS cassettes in the Quinn Library A/V are available for 2 hours.

DVDs and VHS cassettes at the Fordham Westchester Library Circulation Desk are available for 2 hours.

Books and articles on Reserve at all campus libraries are available for 2 hours.

Renewals

Loans can be renewed up to three times if no one else has requested the book. After two weeks, a book may be recalled if someone else asks for it. A/V and EIC materials cannot be renewed.

Books can be renewed online in My Account, in person before the due date at the Circulation Desk, or by telephone:

Rose Hill (718) 817-5109
(718) 817-3578
Lincoln Center (212) 636-6062
Westchester (914) 367-3060

Fines & Overdues

Books in general collections - $0.10 per day.
Reserve Books - Flat rate $5.00 per day. 
Reserve Audio/Visual Materials - Flat rate $5.00 per day, per disc. 
Non-reserve Audio/Visual Materials - $1.00 per day, per disc.

Notices regarding fines and overdues are sent via email, so please be sure to provide us with your current email address.

Newspapers

Come and enjoy reading the many newspapers that the Library has on hand!  The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal and the Financial Times are available in print at the Walsh Library (Rose Hill campus) and in digital formats at all three campus libraries.

Magazines and Journals

The Library has many popular magazines and scholarly journals for you to read. Some are in print while others are in digital format (accessible in the Library only).  Check the Library catalog to learn how to access them. 

Databases

Databases may be accessed only on the computers in the Library.  Unfortunately, due to vendor contractual constraints,  it is not possible to access databases remotely. 

Copying Services

Each Library has computer printers and copying machines that alumni may use. The cost is 5 cents a page for the computer printer and 10 cents a page for the copier. Alumni may purchase a printing card for 50 cents and add money to it as needed for printing. 

Scanning Services

Each Library has a scanner which may be used for free.  On some, you may email a document while others provide for downloading to a flash drive only.